Series not available ≫ Ys Legacy Complete series DVD

Ys Legacy Complete series DVD

Ys Legacy Complete series DVD

Ys Legacy Complete series DVD

Sold out
  • Safe payment options: iDEAL, Bancontact, Maestro, Visa/Mastercard and more
  • Multilingual helpdesk
  • Shipping options: DPD, PostNL, DHL or UPS
  • 100% licensed products
  • Trustworthy: active since 1999

In ancient times, the books of Ys were guarded by six priests and twogoddesses. Contained within the books was the secret to all the good in this world, and all the evil in a man¿s heart. Adol Christen sets out on a quest to gather the books of Ys and defeat that evil - a journey that will reach the boundaries of Esteria, and even to the legendary floating island of Ys itself.

Product details
Adult 14+ Parental Advisory
Department video / DVD
Publisher Anime works
Series Series not available
Shop Manga & Anime
Spoken language English , Japanese
Primary language Japanese
Subtitle language English
DVD region 1
Product Code PRE-2004034089
Customer reviews
Write a customer review

"Average stuff, but good value for money." by V. Krätke (Netherlands) on Jun 7, 2005

This box set contains eleven OAV episodes spread over three discs, plus a sprinkling of extras. That's a whole lot of animation for your money. Though none of it is exactly stellar stuff, none of it is painfully bad either. In fact, the Ys OAVs are average, thoroughly unremarkable fare. You only need to bother seeking this out if you're an absolute swords-and-sorcery junky, or if you're very fond of the Ys games. Those few avid Ys fans who'll want to see the anime can at least get the whole series in one cheap package now. Nice little touches such a the retro game-style DVD menus are sure to please longtime Ys fans.

You see, this was based on a video game, and a pretty obscure one at that. Ys may be a big name in Japan, but it only has a small following in the west (largely because the games were only available on less popular consoles). Still, for what it's worth, these OAVs retrace the events of the first two Ys games. The first seven episodes, spread over discs one and two cover Ys 1, showing us the intrepid Adol's fairly linear quest to gather the six books of Ys. It's actually quite entertaining, tightly packed stuff, with a lot more going on than just mindless monster hacking. Unfortunately, it all looks pretty ugly. The character designs all look like 80's throwbacks, and crudely drawn ones at that. There's little detail and gloss to these people. Ironically, the early Ys games have been re-released countless times with graphical updates, featuring art and intermission scenes that put these OAVs to shame. After a few episodes, the action becomes pretty repetitive as well. Adol just does lots of shouting and sword-swinging until a desperate attack fells another towering boss monster. Frankly, the battles become a chore to watch.

The third disc, however, is much better. It contains four episodes that cover the second Ys game. These episodes take off right where the first series ended, but the art and animation quality suddenly skyrockets. The second series looks much more polished, with solid character designs and dramatic, intricate background art. Big monster fights are still a little repetitive, but the plot moves fast, packed tightly with a lot of action. The second series has a strong sense of urgency. It's a desperate struggle against an overpowering evil. Not hugely cerebral stuff, but a good action piece all the same. Bottom line, if you're interested in the Ys anime, this box set offers a very affordable deal. If you have no urge to check this series out, you don't need to bother.